Late Fhish Picks Two Posthumous Awards At Urban Jamz 2022

Fhish is gone but his works continue to make a mark in the annals of Cameroon entertainment.

Afrobeat artist, Aponglem Lesly aka Fhish is gone but his works continue to make a mark in the annals of Cameroon entertainment.

Fhish last night took home two trophies at th Urban Jamz Awards held in Buea, South West Region of Cameroon.

He was handed the award for Best EP/Mixtape, for his I’m Cameroon EP. He clinched the award, beating the likes of Tenor (Terre Mère) and Ngoma (Cam no go).

For his second recognition of the night, the late singer’s Njoh featuring Longue Longue stood tall in the Best Afrobeats/Pop Song category. It had been nominated in the same category as Aveiro Djess’ ‘Nyama’, Ko-C and Coco Argentee’s ‘Caleçon’, Locko’s ‘meme meme choses’, Happy’s ‘Tchapeu Tchapeu’ and Ridimz’s ‘Shabasiko’.

Brandishing the awards, the late singer’s Facebook page handler said it was a memorable night for loved ones and fans for whom Fhish gave his all while alive.

“Gophmen. This will not be possible without you all. Thank you all soo much for keeping this legacy. There is no gophmen without you.❣️❤ May his soul continue to RIP🙏” she wrote, attaching images of the trophy.

Coincidentally, the artist’s last body of work titled SILK was also released today on streaming platform, Boomplay.

This came as a surprise to many, given that it had been announced for global release on April 17, 2022 instead. Many had also expected that it would be sold and the proceeds handed to the late singer’s family, but the work was out out free of charge.

The Urban Jamz Awards 2022 recognized entertainers for their works from 10 November 2019 to 10 November, 2021.

Below is the full list of the 2022 Urban Jamz Awards winners, as shared by streaming platform, eNow Digital.

1. Next Rated Act: Martin NewSongz

2. Best New Artiste: Rich Khasino Official

3. Best Afrobeats/Pop Song: Fhishofficial Ft Longue Simon Officiel (Njoh)

4. Best Vocal Performance (Female): Asaba Official

5. Best Vocal Performance (Male): Cysoul

6. Best Collabo: Tzy Panchak Ft Kameni & Stanley Enow (Amin)

7. Best Indigenous Song: Nchemty – Maxy – Manorh

8. Best Music Video Director: Anurin Nwunembom – Ultimate

9. Best Music Video Performance: Ridimz – Shabasiko

10. Best Afrotrap/Hip Hop Song: Mic Monsta Official – Local Lokito

11. Best Music Producer: Phillbill

12. Best EP/Mixtape: I’m Cameroon – Fhishofficial

13. Best Album: Vibes Clinic – Mic Monsta Official

14. Best Diaspora Artiste: Tayc

15. Best Male Artiste: Mic Monsta Official

16. Best Female Artiste: Rinyu

17. Song of the Year: Be Proud Remix – Witty minstrel art Ft Magasco, Vernyuy Tina, AWU Acapero, Kameni, GASHA, & Mr. Leo

18. Artiste of the Year: Witty minstrel art

19. Special Recognition: Nkanya Nkwai

By Giyo Ndzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scan the code